McArthur returns as MAV president

By Angela Dorizas

Golden Plains Shire councillor Bill McArthur has been re-elected president of the Municipal Association of Victoria (MAV) for a two-year term.

Responding to his re-election, Cr McArthur said he looked forward to serving local government alongside new and returning Board colleagues and MAV executives.

“Together we will deal with the challenges and opportunities facing the sector,” Cr McArthur said in a statement.

“Key priorities for me will be to advocate the need for the State Government to consult with local government as a key stakeholder in decision making and to continue to represent the collective and influential voice of local government across Victoria – responsibly, ethically and passionately.”

MAV also announced the election of 12 regional Board representatives: Cr Gaetano Greco (Darebin); Cr John Sipek (Moonee Valley); Cr Coral Ross (Boroondara); Cr Mary Lalios (Whittlesea); Cr Lisa Mahood (Wodonga); Cr David Clark (Pyrenees); Cr Reid Mather (Buloke); and Cr Jeff Amos (Wellington).

They join four regional MAV Board members elected unopposed last month: Cr Rod Fyffe (Bendigo); Cr Ken Gale (Moyne); Cr Geoff Lake (Monash); and Cr Geoff Gough (Manningham).

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required