Women a slim majority on Qld govt business boards

Women now make up 52% of the members of the boards of a wide range of Queensland Government-owned businesses.

The milestone follows the appointment of 56 new and reappointed directors across a diverse range of boards, covering service deliveries such as energy and water supply, passenger and freight rail, trade via key ports and management of invested funds.

It also means the Queensland government has met its target of having 50% representation of women on government-owned business boards, part of its Queensland Women’s Strategy.

“Our new and reappointed board members have a very important job ahead of them,” said Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk. “I’m proud to see so many women taking up more than half of the positions on the Queensland Government-owned business boards.

“It’s extremely encouraging to see more women taking on diverse careers,” added Minister for Health, Mental Health and Ambulance Services and Minister for Women, Shannon Fentiman. “Representation of women in male-dominated industries is crucial if we are to achieve gender equality.”

“We set a target to see 50% of women on Queensland Government Boards by 2020 and it’s fantastic that not only did we reach our target early, but we also continue to maintain it.”

The new appointments and reappointments include:


  • Stephen Davy, Director (new)
  • Helen Stanton, Director (new)
  • Wendy Streets, Director (new)

CS Energy

  • Toni Thornton, Director (reappointment)
  • Maurie Brennan, Director (new)
  • Stephen Harty, Director (new)
  • Jacqueline King, Director (new)


  • Hon. Wayne Swan, Director (reappointment)
  • John Thompson, Director (new)
  • Howard Morrison, Director (new)

Energy Queensland

  • Mark Algie, Director (reappointment)
  • Sandra Diethelm, Director (new)
  • Teresa Dyson, Director (reappointment)
  • Vaughan Busby, Director (reappointment)


  • Wayne Collins, Director (reappointment)
  • Kev Hegarty OAM, Director (reappointment)
  • Kate Drews, Director (new)
  • Amanda Yeates, Director (new)

Ports North

  • Russell Beer, Chair (reappointment)
  • Rob Giason, Director (reappointment)
  • Donna-Maree O’Connor, Director (new)
  • Margot Richardson, Director (new)
  • Julia Leu, Director (reappointment)
  • Michael Clifford, Director (new)

Gladstone Ports Corporation

  • Grant Cassidy OAM, Director (reappointment)
  • Peta Jamieson, Director (reappointment)
  • Deirdre Swan, Director (new)
  • Annette Woods, Director (new)

North Queensland Bulk Ports

  • Jorgen Gullestrup, Director (new)
  • Paul Heagney, Director (new)
  • Tony Mooney AM, Director (reappointment)
  • Monica McKendry, Director (reappointment)
  • Lynn Smart, Director (reappointment)

Port of Townsville

  • Jody Currie, Director (new)
  • John Lee, Director (new)
  • Connie Navarro, Director (reappointment)
  • David Waters, Director (new)


  • Gillian Brown, Director (reappointment)
  • Emilio Gonzalez, Director (new)


  • Gail Jukes, Director (new)
  • Jane Williams, Director (reappointment)

Queensland Rail

  • David Marchant AM, Chair (reappointment)
  • Stephen Cantwell, Member (reappointment)
  • Michael Goss, Member (reappointment)
  • Loretta Lynch, Member (new)
  • Heather Watson, Member (reappointment)
  • Tracey Winters, Member (reappointment)
  • Vivienne Doogan, Member (new)


  • Neville Ide, Member (new)
  • Gail Ker OAM, Member (reappointment)
  • John McEvoy, Member (reappointment)
  • Catherine Mickel, Member (reappointment)

QTC Capital Markets Board

  • Rosemary Vilgan, Member (reappointment)
  • Dr Natalie Smith, Member (new)

State Investment Advisory Board

  • Brendan O’Farrell, Member (new)
  • Wendy Tancred, Member (new)

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at editorial@governmentnews.com.au.  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required