WA local government reform process gains momentum

The Government of Western Australia has announced that a further 16 councils have signed agreements to form regional groups as part of the local government reform process.

WA Local Government Minister John Castrilli said twelve councils had agreed to form regional transition groups, four signed up to regional collaborative groups and another eight agreed to amalgamate and form three new entities.

 “I congratulate the mayors, shire presidents, councillors, chief executive officers and staff of the local governments involved for their leadership and commitment to the best interests of their communities,” Mr Castrilli said.
“These local governments can now explore exactly how their communities stand to benefit from reform and I expect more local governments to formally join the reform process as these benefits become evident.”

The new agreements bring to 24 the number of local governments to have formalised their commitment to reform.

Mr Castrilli said a further 22 local governments were supportive of reform but were yet to achieve agreement with their neighbours on how to proceed.

Local governments forming regional transition groups:

  • Beverley, Cunderdin, Quairading, Tammin and York
  • Brookton and Pingelly
  • Mount Marshall, Koorda and Trayning
  • Subiaco and Nedlands

Local governments forming a regional collaborative group in the Pilbara:

  • Ashburton
  • East Pilbara
  • Port Hedland
  • Roebourne  

Local governments pursuing amalgamations to form three new entities:

  • Geraldton-Greenough and Mullewa
  • Morawa, Perenjori, Three Springs and Mingenew
  • Westonia and Yilgarn

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at editorial@governmentnews.com.au.  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required