SA councils recognised for climate change milestones

Six South Australian Councils will receive recognition awards for reaching local climate change milestones next week.
The awards, presented by ICLEI Oceania at a  beakfast in Canberra, recognise Local Government participation and achievement in the Cities for Climate Change Protection (CCP) Australia program and the Water Campaign.
LGA President, Mayor Felicity-ann Lewis said the six councils, Alexandrina, Burnside, Coorong, Gawler, Mt Barker and West Torrens, were indicative of SA Councils’ commitment to water conservation and climate change.
“These milestone awards for water quality, water conservation and carbon reduction initiatives further point to Local Government continuing to lead the charge in these important areas,” Mayor Lewis said.
“I would like to congratulate the milestone award recipients and also recognise the many other SA councils which are continuing to work through climate change and water conservation initiatives. Some have already achieved significant milestones and others will reach these targets in coming months.
Mayor Lewis added said that a new ICLEI program to address the affects of drugs and alcohol abuse on communities – the Cities for Safe and Healthy Communities program – was a timely initiative to combat problems that affect all Australian communities.
“Drugs and alcohol are perpetual problems in our communities and when communities hit financial doldrums and the uncertainty this brings, some people look to find solace in drinking and drugs,” Mayor Lewis said.

“Excessive drinking and drug use have inevitable social consequences, including crime, which impact heavily on our communities.


Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required