National awards for local government excellence

Nominations are now open for the 2011 National Awards for Local Government.

Now in their 26th year, the awards recognise the work of the sector in supporting local communities. There are ten award categories, from action on climate change to women in local government.

Minister for Regional Australia, Regional Development and Local Government, Simon Crean, said the Government recognised the critical role of local governments in creating productive, liveable and sustainable communities.

"I encourage all elected councils to examine the award categories and submit entries that showcase their local initiatives,” he said.

"I look forward to hearing about the creative solutions to local and national challenges that are being found at the local level.”

Entries close March 23, 2011. National winners will be judged by an independent panel and announced in June 2011.

Award categories:
Leading Community Climate Change Action
Youth Engagement
Promoting Reconciliation
Engaging and Strengthening Indigenous Communities
Excellence in Alcohol Management
Inspired Cities
Asset and Financial Management
Innovative Infrastructure Development
Regional Collaborations
Women in Local Government

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required