Kevin Rudd’s New Ministry: The full list

By Staff Writers

Newly appointed Prime Minister Kevin Rudd has announced his Cabinet line-up, Minstries and Parliamentary Secretaries.

As a number of official government and departmental websites are still in the process of being updated, as a service to readers Government News has published the full ministry list supplied to us by the Prime Minister's Office.




The Hon Kevin Rudd MP
Prime Minister

The Hon Anthony Albanese MP    
Deputy Prime Minister
Minister for Infrastructure and Transport
Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy
Leader of the House

Senator the Hon Penny Wong
Minister for Finance and Deregulation
Leader of the Government in the Senate

Senator the Hon Jacinta Collins
Minister for Mental Health and Ageing
Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate
Manager of Government Business in the Senate

The Hon Chris Bowen MP

The Hon Stephen Smith MP
Minister for Defence

The Hon Jenny Macklin MP    
Minister for Families, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs
Minister for Disability Reform

Senator the Hon Bob Carr    
Minister for Foreign Affairs

The Hon Tony Burke MP
Minister for Immigration, Multicultural Affairs and Citizenship
Minister for the Arts
Vice-President of the Executive Council

The Hon Bill Shorten MP
Minister for Education
Minister for Workplace Relations

The Hon Tanya Plibersek MP
Minister for Health and Medical Research

The Hon Mark Butler MP
Minister for Climate Change Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Water

The Hon Brendan O’Connor MP
Minister for Employment
Minister for Skills and Training

The Hon Mark Dreyfus MP    
Special Minister of State
Minister for Emergency Management
Minister for the Public Service And Integrity

The Hon Gary Gray MP    
Minister for Resources and Energy
Minister for Tourism
Minister for Small Business

Senator the Hon Kim Carr    
Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research
Minister for Higher Education

The Hon Julie Collins MP    
Minister for Housing and Homelessness
Minister for Community Services
Minister for the Status of Women
Minister for Indigenous Employment and Economic Development

The Hon Catherine King MP    
Minister for Regional Australia, Local Government and Territories

The Hon Joel Fitzgibbon MP    
Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

The Hon Richard Marles MP    
Minister for Trade


The Hon Jason Clare MP    
Minister for Home Affairs
Minister for Justice

The Hon Kate Ellis MP    
Minister for Early Childhood, Childcare and Youth
Minister for Employment Participation

The Hon Warren Snowdon MP    
Minister for Indigenous Health,
Minister for Defence Science and Personnel,
Minister for Veterans’ Affairs,
Minister assisting the Prime Minister on the Centenary of ANZAC

The Hon David Bradbury MP
Assistant Treasurer
Minister for Competition Policy and Consumer Affairs
Minister Assisting for Deregulation
Minister Assisting for Financial Services and Superannuation

Senator the Hon Kate Lundy
Minister for Multicultural Affairs
Minister Assisting for Innovation and Industry
Minister Assisting for the Digital Economy

The Hon Mike Kelly MP
Minister for Defence Materiel

Senator the Hon Jan McLucas
Minister for Human Services

Senator the Hon Don Farrell
Minister for Sport
Minister Assisting on Tourism

The Hon Sharon Bird MP
Minister for Regional Development
Minister for Regional Communications
Minister for Road Safety

The Hon Melissa Parke MP
Minister for International Development


Senator the Hon David Feeney    
Parliamentary Secretary for Defence

The Hon Sid Sidebottom MP    
Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

The Hon Bernie Ripoll MP    
Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer
Parliamentary Secretary for Small Business

The Hon Yvette D’Ath MP
Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Change, Innovation and Industry

The Hon Kelvin Thomson MP    
Parliamentary Secretary for Schools

The Hon Amanda Rishworth MP    
Parliamentary Secretary for Environment and Urban Water
Parliamentary Secretary for Disabilities and Carers

The Hon Shayne Neumann MP    
Parliamentary Secretary to the Attorney-General
Parliamentary Secretary for Health and Ageing

The Hon Michael Danby MP    
Parliamentary Secretary for the Arts

The Hon Alan Griffin MP    
Cabinet Secretary
Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister

Mr Ed Husic MP    
Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister
Parliamentary Secretary for Broadband

Senator the Hon Matt Thistlethwaite    
Parliamentary Secretary for Pacific Island Affairs
Parliamentary Secretary for Multicultural Affairs
Parliamentary Secretary for Infrastructure and Transport

Senator Doug Cameron    
Parliamentary Secretary for Housing and Homelessness


Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

One thought on “Kevin Rudd’s New Ministry: The full list

  1. Congratulations to the new Rudd Ministry and government.Very pleased to see some new fresh faces of female ministers as well as some of the old ones. So heartened by the bounce from the polls and trust they will keep on heading up.
    Australia can not afford to let a Tony Abbott liberal party destroy all the good work that the Julia Gillard government successfully put through the parliament and although my entire family applauded Julia we are so pleased that Kevin will pull Labor across the line to squash the Liberals and lead our nation forward.
    We await more viewing of parliament proceedings with eager anticipation.

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required