Grimes new Treasury Secretary for NSW

In other news:

  • Amy Brown to lead new enterprise, investment and trade department
  • Queensland CCC head resigns
  • Libraries Tasmania has a new executive director

Paul Grimes has been appointed the 28th Secretary of the NSW Treasury and the state’s second highest ranking public servant.

Paul Grimes

He has previously headed two federal departments, including Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities and Department of Agriculture.

His exit from Agriculture came about after then federal agriculture minister Barnaby Joyce terminated his role.

In 2010, Dr Grimes was awarded a Public Service Medal for his role in the development of the federal government’s response to the global financial crisis.

He will be taking over the new role from Michael Pratt, who will be returning to the private sector after almost five years as NSW Treasury Secretary and close to 10 years in the NSW public service.

Amy Brown to lead new DEIT

CEO of Investment NSW Amy Brown began this week as secretary of the newly formed Department of Enterprise Investment and Trade (DEIT).

Amy Brown

Minister for Tourism, Sport and Western Sydney Stuart Ayers said Ms Brown, who was previously deputy secretary and head of strategy and delivery at DP&C, will continue in her role with Investment NSW.

Mr Ayers said Ms Foy has a proven track recored in attracting investment to NSW and driving partnerships between government and non-government organisations.

“By bringing together enterprise and trade, tourism and hospitality, sport and arts in the same department we are in the prime position to make NSW the best place in the world to live, invest, visit, study, grow and play,” he said.

Mr Ayres also announced Kate Foy as the group deputy secretary of tourism, sport and arts within the department.

Ms Foy has had over 20 years of experience in the NSW public service in portfolios including senior executive roles in the Department of Premier and Cabinet, the NSW Telco Authority and Transport for NSW.

She also led delivery of the cultural infrastructure plan, the COVID relief package for the arts sector and the first NSW Closing the Gap implementation plan.

Head of Qld corruption body ‘deeply sad to resign’

The embattled head of Queensland’s Crime and Corruption Commission Alan MacSporran has resigned following what he described as an “irretrievable breakdown” in his relationship with his oversight body, the PCCC.

Alan MacSporran

The CCC was recently reviewed by the Parliamentary Crime and Corruption Committee (PCCC), which found the corruption commission didn’t act “independently and impartially” against Logan City Council.

Former NSW Ombudsman Bruce Barbour has been appointed Acting Chair of the Queensland Crime and Corruption Commission and will commence his role on the 28th.

In a statement Mr MacSporran said many people had urged him to continue in the role despite the finding of the PCCC.

“However, I find myself in a position where, despite a career spanning in excess of 40 years, where my honesty and integrity have never been questioned, it is clear to me that the relationship between myself and the PCCC has broken down irretrievably. This saddens me deeply,” he said.

Mr Barbour’s appointment is for three months while the recruitment process for a permanent replacement is undertaken.

Mr Barbour held the position of NSW Ombudsman for 15 years and also has experience in administrative law and conducting investigations.

“He has the capability and skills to lead the CCC in the interim and has a thorough understanding of its operations since being appointed as an Ordinary Commissioner in 2021 with the bi-partisan support of the Parliamentary Crime and Corruption Committee,” Attorney-General and Minister for Justice Shannon Fentiman said in a statement.

New Local Jobs First Commissioner for Victoria

Moana Weir

Moana Weir is now the Local Jobs First Commissioner for Victoria, taking over from the inaugural commissioner Don Matthews, who retired in 2021.  

In her role, she will advocate on behalf of small and medium-sized enterprises and promote the employment of Victorian apprentices, trainees and cadets on government construction projects.

The role also oversees compliance with local content commitments to create opportunities for local industry.

An experienced lawyer, Ms Weir has been a senior officer at companies such as SEEK and REA Group.

“Ms Weir’s expertise will help to deliver the government’s Local Jobs First policy as we continue to put Victorian businesses and workers first,” said Minister for Industry Support and Recovery Martin Pakula.

She started in her role on Thursday.

New Vaccine Commander for WA

To help with the next phase of Western Australia’s fight against COVID-19, Gary Dreibergs has been appointed as the state’s new Vaccine Commander.

The deputy police commissioner takes over the role from Police Commissioner Chris Dawson, who has served in the role since late August last year.

In his role, Mr Dreibergs will engage with federal, state and non-government sectors to ensure that hesitant groups are supported to take up the vaccine.

Mr Dreibergs has decades of experience in leadership roles in WA Police and played a significant role in the state’s pandemic response as a member of the Emergency Management Team.

TAS Solicitor-General appointed as Senior Counsel

Sarah Kay, who was appointed Solicitor-General in December, has now been appointed as Senior Counsel by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Tasmania.

She is Tasmania’s first female Solicitor-General since the office was established in 1825.

Ms Kay has 25 years’ experience as a legal practitioner and was previously the Assistant Solicitor-General, a role she took up in 2017.

Sue McKerracher

New executive director of Libraries Tasmania

Sue McKerracher will join Libraries Tasmania as the new executive director.

She was previously the CEO of the Australian Library and Information Association, a role she held since 2012.

As CEO, she worked closely with Libraries Tasmania, government organisations and education institutions to support and deliver library programs in Tasmania and across the country.

New mayors and deputy mayors

Councils have had their first Ordinary meetings of the year and some now have new mayors and deputy mayors.

Jeff Pettett has been elected as the new mayor of Ku-ring-gai, ousting former mayor Cedric Spencer, who held the role for less than five months.

Barbara Ward has also been elected as the deputy mayor of Ku-ring-gai, taking over from Sam Ngai.

Mr Pettett is a qualified accountant, a Fellow of the Institute of Accountants and a chartered tax adviser with the Tax Institute of Australia.

Meanwhile, In Shoalhaven, Liza Butler has been elected Deputy Mayor.

There will be a re-election for the position in September, followed by another re-election next year, to give three councillors the opportunity of deputy over the term of council.

Shoalhaven City Council has also abolished the position of assistant deputy mayor, a change put forward by Shoalhaven Mayor Amanda Findley, who said it was unnecessary and not recognised in legislation.

Ms Butler is a first-time councillor who previously worked in the private sector and ran two businesses on the South Coast.  

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required