Barnett announces his expanded cabinet

The incoming WA Premier Colin Barnett’s new cabinet comprises 17 ministers, while the previous Labor cabinet had 15 members.

Three Nationals MPs have been put in the ministry, including the party leader Brendon Grylls, his deputy Terry Waldron and Member for Blackwood Stirling Terry Redman.

Mr Grylls, who secured a power-sharing deal with Mr Barnett this week, has been named the Minister for Regional Development, with Mr Waldron and Mr Redman taking on gaming and agriculture respectively.
The appointment of little known Upper House Liberal Donna Faragher as Environment Minister came as a surprise, along with Independent MP Liz Constable becoming Education Minister, a position Peter Collier was eyeing.

Mr Collier instead takes on energy and training.

Troy Buswell, who stepped back from the Liberal leadership shortly before the election, has been given an extensive portfolio, including small business, trade, industrial relations, housing, science, innovation and consumer protection.

Mr Barnett has split the Department of Planning and Infrastructure, giving John Day and Simon O’Brien planning and transport respectively.

Bunbury MP John Castrilli will be the Minister for Local Government, while Graham Jacobs picks up water and mental health. 

Under a formal agreement between Mr Barnett and Mr Grylls, Nationals ministers have been given a right to refuse to attend cabinet and comment publicly against Liberal agendas if they disagreed with them.

Meanwhile, the Labor party will hold a caucus meeting next Wednesday under the new leadership of Eric Ripper to allocate the shadow portfolios.

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required