Tune calls Department of Finance restructure

By Julian Bajkowski

The Secretary of the Department of Finance and Deregulation, David Tune, has announced a wide-ranging restructure of executives and senior positions as the government’s money management machine pursues a consolidation of functions aimed at improved performance and efficiency.

The moves have resulted in Finance slimming down the number of Deputy Secretaries from six roles to five following the retirement of Australian Government Information Management Office head Ann Steward, who will not be replaced.

Shake-ups within Finance are closely watched as it is usually the department tasked with finding savings and efficiencies to keep the Budget on track, with some pressure to lead by example.

The changes follow the delivery of a Capability Review of the department undertaken by Helen Williams and Jeff Harmer.

Finance staff have been assured that no-one will lose their jobs as a result of the latest rebalancing, however the shifts will bring together similar functions spread across different parts of the department to reduce duplication and pull together knowledge and skills.

The restructure coincides with the announcement that AGIMO will be more closely integrated with other parts of the department following Ms Steward’s exit.

Under that move, First Assistant Secretary Glenn Archer who ran the Policy and Planning Division of AGIMO has been sent to the freshly minted Governance and Resource Management Group, reporting to Deputy Secretary Stein Helgeby.

Mr Archer also gets the title of Australian Government Chief Information Officer, previously held by Ms Steward, for his efforts as well as the job of advising supporting the Secretaries’ Information and Communications Technology Governance Board (SIGB) that was formed after the Gershon Review.

At the same time, AGIMO’s Agency Services Division, headed by John Sheridan, has been sent to another newly named entity, the Business Procurement and Asset Management Group, reporting to Deputy Secretary Jan Mason.

In the process, Finance’s other centralised procurement functions will be blended with technology procurement to form a rebadged Technology and Procurement Division – giving Mr Sheridan the twin titles of Australian Government Procurement Coordinator and Australian Government Chief Technology Officer all for the price of a First Assistant Secretary. (See end table for specific Technology and Procurement Division branch roles).

After undertaking the often challenging job of returning value and transparency to taxpayers running the Procurement Division (including AusTender), John Grant has been entrusted to head the Funds and Superannuation Division. It reports into the Governance and Resource Management Group reporting to Deputy Secretary Stein Helgeby.

Another notable structural shift is the movement of the Communications Advice Branch – which oversees government advertising – from the Procurement Division to the Implementation and Performance Improvement Division.

The Financial Framework Division has also been rationalised, downsizing from five branches to three with the Asia Pacific Partnership Branch being transferred in the Deregulation Group.

Finance’s Chief Operating Officer Group, answering to Deputy Jenet Connell, picks up the sensitive Ministerial and Parliamentary Services Division, headed by Kim Clarke, while Paul Stokoe is believed to have taken a transfer to Health.

The Deregulation and Review Group has also been expanded, with the Strategic Policy Division, headed by First Assistant Secretary Peter McCray moving across from Budget Group. Also transferring in is the Asia pacific Partnership Branch, headed by Assistant Secretary Thea Daniel.

Peter Saunder will also shift to Deregulation from Budget Group after being picked to become First Assistant Secretary in the Deregulation Policy Division.

Department of Finance, Business, Procurement and Asset Management Group
Technology and Procurement Division Branches

Government Network Services Branch: Chris Dale, Assistant Secretary

ICT Procurement Branch:  Mundi Tomlinson, Assistant Secretary

Online Services Branch: Sharyn Clarkson, Assistant Secretary

Procurement Management Branch: Lorraine Watt, Assistant Secretary

Procurement Policy Branch: Andrew Staines, Assistant Secretary

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at editorial@governmentnews.com.au.  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required