‘Personality’ cited in Turnbull dumping

In other news:

  • More departures from Wingecarribee
  • Amanda Vanstone to co-chair National Parks group
  • Replacement for Robyn Kruk at FSANZ

NSW environment minister Matt Kean has cited “personality” in the dumping of Malcolm Turnbull from the Net Zero Emissions and Clean Economy board just days after the former PM’s appointment.

Malcolm Turnbull

In a statement to the media on Tuesday Mr Kean said it was important for the board to focus on facts, technology, science and economics.

“The focus should not be on personality,” he said.

“No person’s role on the board should distract from achieving results for the NSW people or from the government’s work in delivering jobs and opportunities for the people of NSW.”

Mr Turnbull, an outspoken advocate of renewable energy, has blamed pressure from the fossil fuels industry and the “climate change-denying media” for the government’s decision.

NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte will act in the role until a new chair is announced.

Senior managers depart Wingecarribee

Wingecarribee Shire Council’s Deputy General Manager Operations, Finance and Risk Barry Paull and Deputy General Manager Corporate, Strategy and Development Services Mark Pepping have resigned from Council.

Interim Administrator Viv May says the departures were “by agreement” and contractual obligations have been complied with.

Richard Mooney will relieve as Acting Deputy General Manager Operations, Finance and Risk and Danielle Lidgard and John Crawford will alternate as Deputy General Manager Corporate Strategy and Development Services.

Mr May wished Mr Paull and Mr Pepping well for the future and said he would be making no further comment.

Amanda Vanstone to co-chair National Parks advisory group

Former Howard government minister Amanda Vanstone and Central Land Council CEO Joe Martin-Jard, who is of Kamilaroi descent, will co-chair an advisory group examining joint management of Commonwealth National Parks.

Amanda Vanstone

Environment minister Sussan Ley says Booderee, Kakadu and Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Parks, all Aboriginal land leased to the Commonwealth, are sites of enormous cultural significance and rich environmental biodiversity.

“The group will help identify the best ways to protect these values and ensure that the traditional owners have control over the way the land is managed,” she said.

Other members on the group include former NT Chief Minister Shane Stone and former Australian Public Service Commissioner Helen Williams.

The group will provide their recommendations in the second half of 2021.

15 appointees to mayoral advisory panel

Victoria’s local government minister Shaun Leane has unveiled the 15 mayors who will sit on the Local Government Mayoral Advisory Panel.

Sally Capp

The Mayors will meet with with the minister four times this year to provide advice on matters that impact local government and put forward initiatives to help the sector recover from COVID-19.

“The Local Government Mayoral Advisory Panel will provide important advice on how local and state governments can work together to produce real results for the Victorian community,” Mr Leane said.

Members of the 2021 Local Government Mayoral Advisory Panel are Sally Capp, Daniel Moloney, Kris Bolam, Mendy Urie, Louise Crawford, Kate Hely, Libby Stapleton, Joseph Haweil, Jennifer Anderson, Adele Hegedic, Jenny O’Connor, Despi O’Connor, David Wortman, Kim O’Keeffe and Jo Armstrong.

The panel will meet for the first time on 21 April via videoconference.

New government head at HERE Technologies

Dan Paull has been appointed as Head of Government and Infrastructure for Oceania at Netherlands-based location data and technology platform HERE Technologies.

Dan Paull

In 2001, Mr Paull helped establish the government-owned national data location provider PSMA Australia Limited, more recently trading as Geoscape Australia.

During his tenure he oversaw the development of key data products and data sets and was the driving force behind Geoscape Buildings – a digital representation of every building in Australia – as well as the organisation’s data processing platform and API services.

From 2010 to 2018 he also served as Director of the Global Spatial Data Infrastructure (GDSI) Association.

In his new role Mr Paull will deliver services including emergency dispatch and routing, smart urban mobility solutions, and connected vehicles and supporting infrastructure.

Acting CEO appointed at FSANZ

Robyn Kruk

Former Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) CEO Steve McCutcheon has been appointed as acting FSANZ Board Chair.

He replaces Robyn Kruk, who has completed her term after leading the board since 2016.

Mr McCutcheon act in the role while a recruitment process is completed.  

The trans-Tasman agency regulates the use of ingredients, additives and food labelling.

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at editorial@governmentnews.com.au.  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required