Local leaders to chair Victorian regional development committees

By Staff Writer

The Commonwealth and Victorian Governments have appointed 83 regional and rural Victorians to serve on the state’s nine Regional Development Australia (RDA) committees.

The community leaders will play a key role in determining the future growth and development of their towns.

Federal Parliamentary Secretary for Infrastructure and Regional Development, Maxine McKew, and Victorian Minister for Regional and Rural Development, Jacinta Allan, welcomed the new appointees.

McKew said it was the first time governments had taken “such a direct and cooperative” approach to regional development.

“RDA Victoria will be the central point of contact across all levels of government and regional communities to promote regional initiatives and make sure that they respond to local needs,” McKew said.

Allan said it was a “new beginning for regional advocacy”.

“RDA committees in Victoria will integrate the work of all levels of government and work to improve regional economies and amenity,” she said.

“RDA committees will also assist all government agencies to focus their work on the priorities identified within their own communities.”


Barwon South West
Chair – Brusce Anson
Deputy chair – Ed Coppe, Peter Dorling

Chair – Joanne Bourke
Deputy chair – Michael Tudball

Loddon Mallee
Chair – Jenny Dawson
Deputy chair – Stuart McLean

Chair – Hayley Cail
Deputy chair – Jim O’Connor

Chair – Richard Elkington
Deputy chair – Angela Hutson

Northern Metropolitan
Chair – Bob McQuillen
Deputy chair – Anne Badenhorst

Southern Metropolitan
Chair – John Bennie
Deputy chair – Faith FitzGerald

Eastern Metropolitan
Chair – Peter Chaffey
Deputy chair – Kaele Way AM

Western Metropolitan
Chair – Bill Jaboor
Deputy chair – Professor Elizabeth Harman

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at editorial@governmentnews.com.au.  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required