Coffs Harbour Mayor to lead NSW councils

Mayor of Coffs Harbour, Keith Rhoades, has been elected as the new president of the Local Government Association (LGA) of New South Wales.

LGA members elected their new office bearers and executives at the association's annual conference in Albury this week.

Cr Rhoades replaces North Sydney Mayor Genia McCaffery, who after six years of leading the association did not stand for re-election. Cr McCaffery will remain on the LGA executive as immediate past president.

Cr Rhoades has been a member of the LGA executive since 2008. In what was his first race for the LGA presidency, Cr Rhoades won against Dubbo councillor and former mayor Greg Matthews.

Cr Rhoades said he had taken on “enormous responsibility” at a critical time for local government in NSW.

“I look forward to working with my fellow executive members to represent the councils of NSW, as we continue to push for better federal and state government funding for our local services and infrastructure, and greater recognition of the important role that local government has to play,” he said in a statement.

Cr Rhoades has served on Coffs Harbour City Council since 1991 and was popularly elected as Mayor in 2004.

LGA delegates also elected Kevin Schreiber from Sutherland Shire Council as treasurer; Allan Ezzy from Holroyd City Council as vice president – metro; and Allan Smith from Dubbo City Council as vice president – country.

For a full list of LGA executive members visit

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required