Cities Power Partnership doubles in size

The Cities Power Partnership (CPP), a consortium of Australian local government authorities to encourage the use of renewable energy, has increased its number of members to 70, exactly double the number that signed up when the group was formed in July 2017.

Numbers are likely to grow even more after the next round of applications opened in March. The ACT government is also a member, representing Canberra.

The group received a major boost in November 2017 when Sydney and Brisbane joined, along with Darwin. The CPP is an initiative of the Climate Council, which last year issued a report on local government and climate change. It is available here.

“In the six months since the launch of the CPP we’ve seen a surge of council renewable energy projects, from Lismore’s floating solar farm through to a solar bulk buy program in Strathbogie, Victoria helping residents combat rising power bills,” said Climate Councillor Professor Lesley Hughes

“While federal climate policy stalls, local governments are rolling up their sleeves and getting on with the job. With 7.5 million Australians now represented by CPP councils, the groundswell of grassroots climate action is fast spreading across the country.

“This mirrors what we’re seeing from around the globe, as cities and towns create ambitious renewable energy targets and climate solutions. Transforming the way cities and towns use energy could make up to 70 percent of the greenhouse gas reductions needed to limit worsening climate change.”

A key aspect of the CPP is the sharing of knowledge between participants. Councils also get access to domestic and international experts, events with other local leaders and support in implementing ‘pledge items’. It also works to promote and disseminate information about local government renewable energy initiatives.

The CPP’s website features a Power Analytics tool “for planning, tracking and sharing energy, financial and carbon project data. This tool allows member councils to input specific projects and track carbon savings, energy savings and financial savings, as well as sharing this data to the tool’s library so that other member councils can learn from it too.”

First round of CPP Power Partners

  1. Albury City Council (NSW)
  2. Alice Springs Town Council (NT)
  3. Bega Valley Shire (NSW)
  4. Blacktown City Council (NSW)
  5. Bundaberg Regional Council (QLD)
  6. Byron Shire (NSW)
  7. Canberra (ACT)
  8. Canterbury Bankstown City Council (NSW)
  9. Douglas Shire Council (QLD)
  10. Eurobodalla Shire (NSW)
  11. Glamorgan Spring Bay Council (Tas)
  12. Hawkesbury City Council (NSW)
  13. Huon Valley Council (Tas)
  14. Kiama Municipal Council (NSW)
  15. Ku-ring-gai Council (NSW)
  16. Lane Cove Council (NSW)
  17. Lismore City Council (NSW)
  18. Moreland City Council (Vic)
  19. Muswellbrook Shire Council (NSW)
  20. North Sydney Council (NSW)
  21. Noosa Council (QLD)
  22. Parkes Shire Council (NSW)
  23. Penrith City Council (NSW)
  24. Shoalhaven City Council (NSW)
  25. The City of Canning (WA)
  26. The City of Darebin (Vic)
  27. The City of Fremantle (WA)
  28. The City of Newcastle (NSW)
  29. The City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder (WA)
  30. The City of Port Phillip (Vic)
  31. The City of Swan (WA)
  32. The Shire of Strathbogie (Vic)
  33. Upper Hunter Shire Council (NSW)
  34. Willoughby City Council (NSW)
  35. Yass Valley Council (NSW)

Second round of CPP Power Partners

  1. City of Armadale (WA)
  2. Bathurst Regional Council (NSW)
  3. Bayside City Council (NSW)
  4. Bellingen Shire Council (NSW)
  5. City of Boroondara (Vic)
  6. Brighton Council (Tas)
  7. Brisbane City Council (QLD)
  8. Broken Hill City Council (NSW)
  9. City of Bunbury (WA)
  10. Cairns Regional Council (QLD)
  11. Cumberland Council (NSW)
  12. City of Darwin (NT)
  13. City of Gosnells (WA)
  14. City of Greater Dandenong (Vic)
  15. Hornsby Shire Council (NSW)
  16. Inner West Council (NSW)
  17. City of Kwinana (WA)
  18. Logan City Council (QLD)
  19. City of Melville (WA)
  20. Mornington Peninsula Shire (Vic)
  21. Nambucca Shire (NSW)
  22. Northern Beaches Council (NSW)
  23. Northern Midlands Council (Tas)
  24. City of Onkaparinga (SA)
  25. Orange Shire (NSW)
  26. City of Parramatta (NSW)
  27. City of Randwick (NSW)
  28. City of Ryde (NSW)
  29. Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale (WA)
  30. Sunshine Coast Council (QLD)
  31. City of Sydney (NSW)
  32. Wagga City Council (NSW)
  33. Waverley Council (NSW)
  34. Wingecarribee Shire (NSW)
  35. Woollahra Municipal Council (NSW)

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter.

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required