2022 local government award winners announced

The winners of the 2022 National Awards for Local Government have been announced, with a wide range of worthy initiatives being recognised.

The annual awards, which were first held in 1986, celebrate and acknowledge the role that local councils play in supporting their communities.

This year’s winners are:

  • Creativity and Culture category: Moorabool Shire Council (VIC) for its Hide + Seek Music Festival project.
  • Productivity through Infrastructure category: Sunshine Coast Council (QLD) for its Sunshine Coast Mobility Map – Connecting Community Infrastructure project.
  • Regional Growth category: Moreton Bay Regional Council (QLD) for its Moreton Bay City project.
  • Cohesive Communities category: City of Canning (WA) for its Hillview Intercultural Community Centre project.
  • Road Safety category: Mitchell Shire Council (VIC) for its School Crossing SafetyCam Initiative.
  • Addressing Violence Against Women and their Children category: City of Belmont (WA) for its Belmont Safeguarding Families Advocacy Service.
  • Indigenous Recognition category: Bathurst Regional Council (NSW) for its River Connections project.
  • Women in Local Government category: Broken Hill City Council (NSW), for showcasing female leader, Kathryn Graham.
  • Career Starter category: Broken Hill City Council (NSW) for its outstanding trainee, Katelyn Schenk.
  • Waste Management category: City of Vincent (WA) for its What the FOGO? We’ve got a Better Bin System sorted! Project.
  • Disaster Preparedness category: Ipswich City Council (QLD) for its Forewarned is forearmed – Ipswich Integrated Catchment Plan project.

Federal Minister for Regional Development, Local Government and Territories, Kristy McBain, said that “The high standard of entries this year is a testament to the hard work of local governments who have ensured positive, quality outcomes are achieved in their communities nationwide.”

“The tireless efforts of our local governments to overcome barriers faced this year such as floods, bushfires and COVID-19, and develop new initiatives that deliver remarkable outcomes for their communities, are incredible.”

Nominations for next year’s Awards will open in February 2023.

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at editorial@governmentnews.com.au.  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required