Rann reshuffles ministry

By Staff Writer

South Australia’s Labor caucus met in Adelaide today to vote in new ministers following the resignation of Rory McEwen and Carmel Zollo.

The resignation of the Minister for Primary Industries and Forestry Minister Rory McEwen and Minister for Correctional Services, Road Safety and Gambling Carmel Zollo, has prompted the second Rann Government reshuffle in less than a year.

As expected, right faction MPs Tom Koutsantonis and Michael O’Brien were elevated to cabinet.

Koutsantonis will replace Zollo as Minister for Correctional Services and Road Safety and O’Brien has reportedly been given the education, science and training portfolio.

Premier Mike Rann told ABC News that both factions consented to the appointment of O’Brien and Koutsantonis.

“What happens in the Labor caucus is that the chair of caucus invites anyone interested in filling the positions to stand in their seats – it’s open to everyone and two people stood, Michael O’Brien and Tom Koutsantonis, and they were not only elected unanimously but with great enthusiasm and acclaim,” Rann said.

MP Chloe Fox has stepped up to O’Brien’s former role of parliamentary secretary and MP Paul Caica has been appointed Minister for Agriculture, Food, Fisheries, Forests and Regional Development.

Zollo will continue to serve in the Upper House until her term expires in 2014, while Independent MP McEwen will not contest the March 2010 election.

Rann said McEwen and Zollo approached him with their resignations last July, but told them to wait until 2009.

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at editorial@governmentnews.com.au.  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required