QLD Govt cuts red tape, creates ‘super departments’

By Staff Writer

The Queensland public service will undergo the most significant reform in almost two decades, with the existing 23 government departments merged into 13.

Announcing the restructure, Premier Anna Bligh said she hoped to improve service delivery across the state.

“I made a commitment to Queenslanders that I would change the face of this Government and deliver better front-line services and to do this, Queensland requires a modern public service structure,” Bligh said, adding that there would be no job cuts.

“This is about simplifying Government, reducing bureaucracy and cutting red tape.

“Ministerial portfolio responsibilities will remain unchanged and I want to assure all public servants – particularly those on the front-line – that I stand by my commitment to jobs, not job cuts, and this reform does not mean jobs will be lsot.”

The 13 new state departments will be grouped under six clusters, or ‘super departments’: policy and fiscal coordination; employment and economic development; environment and sustainable resource management; social development; law, justice and safety; and government services.

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at editorial@governmentnews.com.au.  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required