NSW ministers sworn in

By Angela Dorizas

New South Wales Premier Kristina Keneally has unveiled her new cabinet, sworn in today by NSW Governor Marie Bashir.

The cabinet reshuffle has seen the return of a number of former ministers to the frontbench.

Frank Sartor has returned to cabinet as Minster for the Climate Change and the Environment.

Former police minister Tony Kelly, who was demoted from cabinet under former premier Nathan Rees, has returned to the frontbench as Minster for Planning, Minister for Infrastructure and Minister for Lands.

Ian Macdonald has been reappointed to his previous portfolio of state and regional development and has also become Minister for the Central Coast.

Minister for Community Services, Linda Burney, has also been appointed Minister for the State Plan and will have a seat on the budget committee of cabinet.

Treasurer Eric Roozendaal has been elevated in cabinet, becoming Special Minister of State, with responsibility for the delivery of the Nation Building and Jobs Plan stimulus package.

Ms Keneally said the cabinet would seek to rebuild trust with the community.

"This cabinet will put the NSW community first," she said.

"We are about delivering on core services – health, education, transport and putting care for the most vulnerable at the heart of government."

Ms Keneally became the first female Premier NSW last week after defeating  Mr Rees in a leadership spill by 47 to 21 votes.

Mr Rees was offered a portfolio by Ms Keneally last week, but is absent from the new ministry.

Ms Keneally and her deputy, Carmel Tebbutt, form an all-female leadership – the first in Australian government history.

NSW Cabinet

Kristina Keneally MP – Premier and Minister for Redfern Waterloo

Carmel Tebbutt MP – Deputy Premier and Minister for Health

John Hatzistergos MLC – Attorney General, Minister for Citizenship, Minister for Regulatory Reform, and Vice President of the Executive Council

Eric Michael Roozendaal MLC – Treasurer and Special Minister of State

David Campbell MP – Minister for Transport and Roads

Verity Firth MP – Minister for Education and Training

Tony Kelly MLC – Minister for Planning, Minister for Infrastructure and Minister for Lands

Frank Sartor MP – Minister for Climate Change and the Environment and Minister Assisting the Minister for Health (Cancer)

Linda Burney MP – Minister for the State Plan and Minister for Community Services

John Daley MP – Minister for Police and Minister for Finance

John Robertson MLC – Minister for Industrial Relations, Minister for Commerce, Minister for Energy and Minister for Public Sector Reform

Ian Macdonald MLC – Minister for State and Regional Development, Minister for Mineral and Forest Resources and Minister for the Central Coast

Paul Lynch MP – Minister for Ageing, Minister for Disability Services and Minister for Aboriginal Affairs

Steven Whan MP – Minister for Primary Industries, Minister for Emergency Services and Minister for Rural Affairs

Jodi McKay MP – Minister for Tourism, Minister for the Hunter, Minister for Science and Medical Research and Minister for Women

David Borger MP – Minister for Housing, Minister for Western Sydney and Minister Assisting the Minister for Transport and Roads

Barbara Perry MP – Minister for Local Government, Minister Assisting the Minister for Planning and Minister Assisting the Minister for Health (Mental Health)

Phillip Costa MP – Minister for Water, and Minister for Corrective Services

Kevin Greene MP – Minister for Gaming and Racing, and Minister for Sport and Recreation 

Virginia Judge MP – Minister for Fair Trading, and Minister for the Arts

Graham West MP – Minister for Juvenile Justice

Paul McLeay MP – Minister for Ports and Waterways and Minister for the Illawarra

Peter Primrose MLC – Minister for Small Business, Minister for Volunteering, Minister for Youth and Minister Assisting the Premier on Veterans’ Affairs

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at editorial@governmentnews.com.au.  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required