Lucas takes on Local Government

Queensland Premier Anna Bligh has unveiled her new Cabinet, following the recent resignation of two senior ministers.

The reshaped Cabinet included portfolio responsibilities for three new ministers as well as changes to portfolios.

Deputy Prime Minister Paul Lucas was handed responsibility for the local government portfolio, while the Premier took on Minister for Reconstruction.

Ms Bligh said the reshuffle reflected State Government priorities in the Queensland reconstruction effort.

“We face an enormous task this year as we get on with the job of rebuilding Queensland after the dual disasters of widespread flooding and Tropical Cyclone Yasi,” she said in a statement.

“And this is the right team and the right mix of portfolio responsibilities to get Queensland through this massive job of rebuilding and recovery.”

The Local Government Association of Queensland (LGAQ) welcomed the Deputy Premier as the new Minister for Local Government.

LGAQ president Paul Bell said the decision demonstrated the “vital” relationship between state and local government.

"I congratulate the Premier for her foresight in having a strong, senior minister with a cohesive set of portfolio responsibilities work by her side as she gets on with the job of rebuilding,'' Cr Bell said in a statement.

"Paul Lucas already has a solid relationship with many mayors across the state. His key role in recovery efforts so far has only strengthened those bonds.

"We look forward to working with him to support communities anxious to regain their vitality and put these disasters behind them.''

Bligh Government Ministry:

  • Anna Bligh: Premier and Minister for Reconstruction
  • Paul Lucas: Deputy Premier, Attorney-General, Minister for Local Government and Special Minister of State.
  • Andrew Fraser: Treasurer and Minister for State Development and Trade
  • Geoff Wilson: Health
  • Neil Roberts: Police, Corrective and Emergency Services
  • Stephen Robertson: Energy and Water Utilities
  • Craig Wallace: Main Roads, Fisheries and Marine Infrastructure
  • Cameron Dick: Education and Industrial Relations
  • Tim Mulherin: Agriculture, Food and Regional Economies
  • Stirling Hinchliffe: Employment, Skills and Mining
  • Rachel Nolan: Finance and Arts
  • Kate Jones: Environment and Resource Management
  • Annastacia Palaszczuk: Transport and Multicultural Affairs
  • Phil Reeves: Child Safety and Sport
  • Karen Struthers: Community Services, Housing and Women
  • Jan Jarratt: Tourism, Manufacturing and Small Business
  • Simon Finn: Government Services, Building Industry and ICT
  • Curtis Pitt: Disabilities, Mental Health and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required