Long-serving councillors receive accolades

By Staff Writer      

The Western Australia Local Government Association (WALGA) has recognised the long service of two councillors.

President of the Shire of Morawa, James Cook, and Mayor of Mosman Park, Ron Norris, received a prestigious Life Membership to WALGA at the recent WA Local Government Convention. Cr Cook was elected to council in 1984 and Mayor Norris was elected in 1979.

They were joined by 51 other WALGA members honoured with a Certificate of Appreciation, Long and Loyal Service Award, or Distinguished Service Award.

WALGA president Bill Mitchell said the annual Local Government Honours Awards recognised those who had exceeded the requirements of their position to better serve the community.

“More often than not it’s the unsung heroes that quietly go about their business and achieve extraordinary things that go unrecognised, so we take great pleasure in being able to present these awards each year,” Cr Mitchell said.

WALGA honours:

Life Membership
President Jim Cook, Shire of Morawa
Mayor Ronald Norris, Town of Mosman Park

Certificate of Appreciation
Cr William Dinnie, Shire of Dalwallinu
President Kevin Forbes AM, Shire of Plantagenet
Cr John Sewell, City of Geraldton-Greenough
Mr Gavin Watters, Shire of Swan, EMRC

Long and Loyal Service Award
Cr Bruce Altham, Shire of Kent
Mr Daniel Bignell, former Shire of Broomehill
Cr Barbara Black, Shire of Quairading
Mrs Marion Blair, City of Belmont
Cr David Boulter, Shire of Nannup
Cr Beverly Bracknell, Shire of Dumbleyung
Cr Dawson Bradford, Shire of Cuballing
Cr Jennifer Brown, Shire of Cuballing
Cr Kim Bunce, Shire of West Arthur
Cr Ken Clements, Shire of Plantagenet
Cr Paul Clements, City of Subiaco
Mr Allen Cooper, Shire of East Pilbara
Cr Ray Curo, Shire of Manjimup
Cr Murray Curti, Shire of Manjimup
Cr Margaret Davey, Shire of Goomalling
President Barbara Dunnet, Shire of Nannup
President Nola Forbes, Shire of Corrigin
Cr Robert Fulwood, Shire of Cunderdin
Cr Anita Grace, Shire of East Pilbara
Cr Bruce Hearman, Shire of Donnybrook-Balingup
Mr Gregory Holly, former Shire of Broomehill
Cr Neale Johnson, Shire of Leonora
Cr John Kirkpatrick, Shire of Serpentine-Jarrahdale
Cr John McNamara, City of Swan
Cr Veronica Melville-Levay, Town of Mosman Park
Cr Jeff Moir, Shire of Plantagenet
President Denyse Needham, Shire of Serpentine-Jarrahdale
President Robyn Parsons, Shire of Irwin
Cr John Price, Shire of Serpentine-Jarrahdale
Cr Michael Skinner, Shire of Plantagenet
Cr Judith Tomlinson, Shire of Chittering
Cr Christopher Travers, Shire of Derby/West Kimberley

Distinguished Service Award
Cr Garth Addis, Shire of Kent
Cr Wally Barrett, Shire of Murray
Cr Len Cargeeg, Shire of Mt Marshall
Mayor Ian Carpenter, City of Geraldton-Greenough
Cr Rod Carter, Shire of Cunderdin
Cr Bev Clarke, Shire of Busselton
President Graham Cooper, Shire of Cunderdin
President Bob Eddington, Shire of Shark Bay
Cr David Fardig, City of Swan
Cr Clive Gibsone, Shire of Cunderdin
President Ken Hooper, Shire of Merredin
Cr David Lucas, City of Swan
President Noel Nancarrow, Shire of Murray
Cr Gary North, Shire of Morawa
Mr Alan Richardson, City of Belmont   

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at editorial@governmentnews.com.au.  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required