LGASA elects Mayor of Marion as president

By Staff Writer
The South Australian Local Government Association (LGA) has elected Mayor Felicity-Ann Lewis of Marion City Council as its President elect.
Cr Lewis, who was elected by returning officer and executive director Wendy Campana, will take over from Port Augusta Mayor Joy Baluch, at the end of the LGA general meeting on April 24.
Cr Lewis was elected Mayor of Marion in 2000 and was elected as a Vice-President of the LGA in 2005.
In a statement from the LGA, outgoing LGA President, Mayor Baluch, welcomed the result and congratulated Mayor Miriam Smith of Tea Tree Gully on a strong campaign.
“We are blessed in Local Government with strong leaders – particularly women Mayors,” she said.
Mayor Lewis said she appreciated the support of councils and would speak more about her aspirations for Local Government following the formal declaration of the result at the LGA General Meeting.

SA Premier Mike Rann issued his congratulations to the new LGA president via the social networking site Twitter, describing her as a "good mayor, good choice".

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at editorial@governmentnews.com.au.  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required