Govt waste champions shortlisted for awards

West Australian government initiatives have been recognised in the state’s annual waste management awards.

Amber Jade Sanderson

The WasteSorted Awards, held by the WA Waste Authority, recognise innovative solutions to reducing waste and promoting reuse and recycling.

Finalists in the public sector include DevelopmentWA and the Department of Finance.

DevelopmentWA is the state government’s central development agency. It has overseen major projects  including the redevelopment of Elizabeth Quay and the revitalisation of regional Western Australia from Broome to Albany.

Upcoming projects include the creation of the new Ocean Reef Marina, the renewal of the East Perth Power Station and redevelopment of Subi Oval and Princess Margaret Hospital.

The agency is up for an Avoid Recover Protect Award in the Commercial and Industrial Waste category, which is handed out for excellence in avoiding or recovering waste and protecting the environment from the impact of waste generated from commercial and industrial activities.

DevelopmentWA touts its commitment to waste avoidance and resource recovery in its 2019-20 annual report, saying it encourages or requires contractors and consultants to use resources efficiently and reduce, reuse and recycle materials during demolition and construction.

“In some instances we seek to influence the behaviour of residential and business customers to improve operational waste management practices,” it says.

The Department of Finance is in the running for Waste Innovation of the Year which recognises “exceptional innovation” in waste management, improvement, practices and outcomes.

The department said on its Twitter feed that its waste system diverts 9.6 tonnes of organic waste from landfill and abates 10.2 million litres of greenhouse gases a year and it was proud to be a finalist.

The finalists highlighted “some incredible projects and individuals working across Western Australia’s waste sector”, environment minister Amber Jade Sanderson said.

Winners will be announced on May 5.

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required