Goldfields-Esperance shires form regional group

A group of ten shires in the Goldfields-Esperance region of Western Australia has become the state’s largest regional collaborative group.

Local Government Minister John Castrilli announced on Thursday that the shires of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Laverton, Leonora, Dundas, Coolgardie, Esperance, Menzies, Ngaanyatjarraku, Ravensthorpe and Wiluna have signed an agreement formalising the formation of a regional collaborative group.

“The decision to form a regional collaborative group is a positive step in securing the long term future of these communities,” Mr Castrilli said.

The group covers a total area of more than 900,000 kilometres and has a combined population of more than 57,000, making it the largest regional group formed through the amalgamation process.

Mr Castrilli said the new group would develop a regional business plan, examining the services and facilities delivered to the community and the impacts of the reform process on operations.

Local governments would also work on improving strategic planning, asset management and financial management, he added.

“This is about planning, prioritising and identifying challenges to be derived from a regional approach.”

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required