e-Planning to become mandatory from July

e-Planning will become mandatory for councils in Sydney, Newcastle, the Central Coast and Illawarra from July.

This means that from July 1 councils and Principal Certifying Authorities (PCAs)  in metropolitan areas will have to start accepting and processing DAs, and complying development certificates and post-consent certificates via the NSW Planning Portal.

The new requirements will affect 42 councils, representing two-thirds of the state’s DA determinations, and it will become mandatory for the remaining 86 councils to use e-planning from 1 July 2021.

Twenty-eight councils are currently using the online DA service on the NSW Planning Portal.

As reported by Government News NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian announced the move last November, saying it would improve efficiency and  cut red tape.

Minister for Customer Service Victor Dominello said e-planning represented a transformation of the planning system and could reduce the response time for requests form home owners  by 20 days.

Minister for Planning and Public Spaces Rob Stokes said the initial mandate would cover $39 billion in development value for the State economy.

“It is vital to ensure that we use all the tools and innovations available to us to support and stimulate our economy during these challenging times,” he said.

From 31 December 2020, it will become mandatory for these applications and PCA appointments to be completed entirely on the portal. Councils and private certifiers will be able to opt-in to e-planning before the mandate takes effect.

Mr Stokes said the transition period will give councils time to prepare operating procedures and staff.

The Department will also provide support and staff training via phone or by Skype.

e-Planning will be mandated in the following councils from 1 July 2020:


Blacktown Blue Mountains Burwood Camden Campbelltown Canada Bay
Canterbury-Bankstown Central Coast Cessnock City of Sydney Cumberland Fairfield
Georges River Hawkesbury Hornsby Hunters Hill Inner West Kiama
Ku-ring-gai Lake Macquarie Lane Cove Liverpool Mosman Newcastle
North Sydney Northern Beaches Parramatta Penrith Randwick Ryde
Shellharbour Shoalhaven Strathfield Sutherland The Hills Waverley
Wollondilly Wollongong Woollahra Bayside


Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at editorial@governmentnews.com.au.  

Sign up to the Government News newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required